FLIP 66 - Revisiting Flow storage minimum account balance

Revisiting Flow storage minimum account balance

Status Proposed
FLIP # 66
Author(s) Kshitij Chaudhary (kshitij.chaudhary@dapperlabs.com)
Sponsor Kshitij Chaudhary (kshitij.chaudhary@dapperlabs.com)
FLIP Document https://github.com/onflow/flips/blob/main/governance/20230122-revisiting-storage-fee.md

While Flow storage pricing was kept low in its early days to promote network trial-ability without financial concerns, as the chain matures and usage-patterns evolve, it is important to revisit the pricing from time to time. This FLIP aims at gathering community feedback on revisiting storage pricing such that it reduces attack surfaces, promotes sustainable state growth, and steers mass adoption and scalability.

3 Likes

Hi everyone, I’m a Senior Product Manager in Flow protocol team, leading all Tokenomics and Governance work required to scale Flow to greater security and decentralization, mass adoption, and long-term sustainability. I come with a decade-long experience in economics, pricing, product development and Web3, and am thrilled to be a part of the Flow core R&D team. I look forward to your critical feedback on this proposal, and others that I’ll publish soon. Thank you!

7 Likes

A good proposal, which can greatly improve the utility of $FLOW !

Have two questions:

1. What about an old account that have only 0.001 FLOW? Need additional deposit to match minimum FLOW token balance?
  2. Is the account that has exceeded the usage also need additional deposit before it can be used again?
5 Likes

I feel like this deserves a very long comment @kshitij.chaudhary ( my initial reaction is in insane category ) But in general I like bold moves.

Few comments: I would be happy if you mark them as agreed/not agreed to better understand the position.